Canadian Pride

happy friends watching hockey game on skating rink

 

I am Canadian.

As such, my son was born wearing hockey skates.

Hockey is in his blood.  He lives and breathes hockey.  When he is not on the ice, he is thinking about the next time he will be on the ice.  He could also be outside playing road hockey or mini sticks with his friends.  He could be playing NHL 16 on the Playstation with a group of neighbourhood friends.

Like I said, it is in his blood.

He dreams of becoming an NHL player and I support all of his dreams.

He is a defenceman.  A truly thankless position.  He wouldn’t change it for anything.  He loves being a defenceman.  He defends the team at all costs; protects the goalie and his crease;  and rushes the puck to score.  End to end.

I will cheer from the sidelines, so proud of my son.  So proud of our team.

I will be radiating pride.

Our team is full of boys who are passionate, dedicated and have such good hearts.  They are learning important life skills together;  as individuals and as a team.  Skills and lessons they cannot learn from their parents or in a classroom. Our coaches teach our children these lessons and for that, we are eternally grateful.

Today, the playoffs start!  It is a big deal!  The team has worked hard to get to this point. It is their time to shine!

I have to go put on my jersey and playoff scarf.  Wear the colours of our team with pride.  Pack my cowbell.  Oh yes, this is going to be a great day!  Today, wherever you are, you may indeed hear me cheering with pride for my son and our team.

Win or lose, they will do it as a team.

No one has ever won a hockey game alone.

Teamwork.

Unparalleled teamwork.

Unparalleled pride.

 

© The Flip of the Switch, January 2016.

 

 

 

One thought on “Canadian Pride”

Leave a Reply

