Time

Antique pocket watch.

Time.

The most valuable commodity ever known to mankind.

Time can be squandered.  Wasted.

Time can be valued.  Cherished.

A commonality all humans possess.

A singular guiding principle that unites us.

An undeniable reality.

We are all driven by time.

Time to work.

Time to commute.

Time to meet a deadline.

Time to get to school.

Time for hockey.

Time for dance.

Time for dinner.

Time to pray.

Time for bed.

We pray that we are blessed with time to do it all over again tomorrow.

The reality however, is that we are all running out of time.

Time is often taken for granted.

Tick tock.

Tick tock.

They say the days are long and the years go by fast.

I can attest to this.  I cannot believe the speed at which my children are growing. In the blink of an eye, they will be in high school, then university, then married, then I will hopefully be blessed with grandchildren (God willing).

They are growing at the speed of light.

Time is zooming by, I can’t catch my breath.

I want to stop time.

Cuddle my babies a little longer.

Travel a little further.

Love a little longer, a little deeper.

Make a difference; leave my footprint on this world.

Time.

Tick tock.

Tick tock.

Savour the time you have been given.

It is a blessing.

Do not squander it.

Cherish it.

For in the blink of an eye, it will all be over.

 

 

© The Flip of the Switch, January 2016.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Time”

  1. Wow! What a powerful and stark reality! Everything you state here is so true! I recently walked away from a depressing and demanding job that was stealing my life, my joy, my time! While I have been home I have been smelling the sweet scent of the roses in my life that were already there but under stress I looked at them sometimes as only thrones. The demands of my 4 year old , being a wife, friends calling that I didn’t make time to talk to because I was exhausted. No more! I value my time these days and the precious things God has given me to fill that space. Excellent post and thanks for the follow😀

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thanks so much for popping by and it seems like we’re thinking a long the same lines. I suspect that when you have kids, you have an instant way of tracking time. I remember before I was married how women with kids would use their birth date as a point for referencing time. I thought it was a bit over the top but I get it now. Our kids have just left the primary school they’ve been at for 7 years and where Ive been quite involved and it’s been a real time of reflection and letting go…both of that school and of my kids as they are finding their own feet and growing up.
    I am also very conscious that our time is is limited and to the make the most of it. Not squander what we have xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

