Just Breathe

Young athletic woman practicing yoga on a meadow at sunset, silhouette

 

If one more person tells me to just breathe, I am going to lose my fucking shit.

Just sayin’.

To anyone reading this who does not have an anxiety or panic disorder but knows someone who does, never…and I mean never, tell them to just breathe.

Do not tell them to just breathe.

Do not tell them to calm the fuck down.  

Do not tell them everything is going to be okay.

Because for them, everything is not fucking okay and it’s not going to be okay!

Just be there.  It may even be better you don’t talk at all.  They want to know they are safe.  They want to know you are there for them, that you give a shit. Let them talk. Don’t pretend like you have any idea what the fuck is going on in their heads, because you don’t.  Be compassionate.  But whatever you do, please do not tell them to just breathe.

Ahhh, glad I got that off my chest.

Now, back to your regularly scheduled program.

Which means I can resume my full blown panic attack.

‘Til next time.

 

© The Flip of the Switch, January 2016.

 

 

16 thoughts on “Just Breathe”

  1. Bahaha! Right?! We can’t “just breathe” when we can’t fucking breathe! People that have never experienced a panic attack, obviously don’t understand and it can be frustrating for them not knowing how to help. I totally get it. I try to educate them and I just need someone there. Period. No you can’t make it stop. No you can’t make everything better. But, just being there helps. I feel ya, Sista! lol

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Amen!! Haha! It’s like the most frustrating thing in the world…which doesn’t help in the middle of an attack!! Just be there!! Check out my blog, my very first post is “Five Small (but very big) Things You Should Know About Anxiety”

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I live this every day, with the my family and my friends. There is a whole community out there that understands your request. I’m told there are more of us with this affliction than not. You’re message is heard loud and clear and we “get it”! from this side of the fence! Thank you for sharing and may everyone else “get it” and understand 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  4. It must be so scary to experience this kind of panic attack. I have a loved one who suffers from panic attacks & I have to tried to do some research in how I can help them through it when one strikes. It is difficult for those who don’t understand the depth of them, to know what is the right thing to say. I think when someone says, “just breathe”, it is most likely because they just don’t know what to say to help. They too, are at a loss & most likely a little scared.

    In a calmer frame of mind, I have asked my loved one what I can do when they strike, what would help them most, which in turn, helps me to assist in whatever way I can.

    I think so many of us could use some direction & suggested dialogue so that we are helping rather than making things worse.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are so right Lynn, they are trying to help the best way they know how. Their intentions are filled with loving kindness. Perhaps I will give some consideration to the things that help me through a panic attack and post them Today I was able to breathe with ease and it felt marvellous. Thanks for your visit, hope you are feeling well and that you have a speedy recovery.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

